Escape The Prison of Unforgiveness: Let It Go!

I’ll never forget what s/he did to me
Just wait! I’ll show them….
Bitterness and Resentment
Hurt Feelings

Today’s topic is the big “F” Word…Forgiveness!

We know its the right thing to do but somehow we try to reason and rationalize why nursing a grudge or plotting revenge would make us feel better. You think you can just take some time to regroup, strategize and then settle the score with your carefully devised plan. Been there, done that and I thank God for deliverance in this area. I want to help you win this battle. You might think revenge will make you feel better and maybe it might for a short time; but trust me it won’t last.

“Unforgiveness is like taking poison and hoping that the other person dies.”
– Joyce Meyer

Pretty heavy right?

It’s not easy, but we’re commanded to forgive. The next few posts we’ll discuss this topic. Why? Because too many of us are stuck here- miserable, hopeless and unable to receive God’s best due to offense.

Be gentle and forbearing with one another and if one has a difference a grievance or complaint against another, readily pardoning each other; even as the Lord has freely forgiven you, so must also forgive. Colossians 3:13 AMP

Scripture Reading:
Matthew 18:21-22
2 Corinthians 2:10

Reflection:
What caused the offense?

What is it costing you (to stay offended)?

What action will you take to overcome your offense or perhaps reconcile? When will you do this?

Prayer for today:

Father, thank you for the beautiful gift forgiveness. At Calvary’s cross Jesus redeemed me for every past, present and future sin. I confess that I have been hurt and don’t want to forgive but I know it’s the right thing to do. I surrender my feelings to obey you. I release and forgive__________________ and choose not to rehearse what happened in the future. By your grace, I offer mercy, compassion, and grace. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Does this resonate with you? Is there anyone in your life that you need to forgive? Have you ever been forgiven? Please share your thoughts and comments.

Leave a Reply

